Robert Greenman Award

     The Deadline Club has been recognizing and honoring the best in high school journalism teaching and advising with a special award since 2006.
      In 2018, the award was named in honor of journalism educator, author, wordsmith and long-time friend and board member of the Deadline Club, Robert Greenman, who died in April 2018.  Greenman’s importance in journalism education cannot be overstated. He wrote “The Adviser’s Companion,” the seminal guide for high school journalism teachers and played a key role in the Columbia Scholastic Press Association. He served as a bridge between journalism professionals and journalism teachers and inspired thousands of student journalist through his engaging, insightful and witty workshops. Greenman launched the Award for High School Journalism.
The past recipients are:
Holly Epstein Ojalvo —  Stuyvesant High Schoool — New York City
John Tagliareni —  Bergenfield High School — Bergenfield, N.J.
Cadence Turner — Curtis High School — Staten Island, N.Y.
Stephen Chiger — North Star Academy Charter School of Newark — N.J.
Jessica Siegal –Seward Park High School — New York City
Edmund Sullivan — Columbia School Press Association — New York City
Noreen Connelly — St. Benedict Prep — Newark, N.J.
Susan Chenelle  — University Academy Charter H.S. — Jersey City, N.J.
Scott Menscher — Edward R. Murrow H.S. — Brooklyn, N.Y.
Mary Elizabeth Fulco — Staples High School — Westport, Conn.
Brian Sweeney — Townsend Harris High School — Flushing, Queens, NY
Jacqueline Linge —  Francis Lewis High School — Fresh Meadows, Queens, NY
Georgia Mavromihalis — Benjamin N. Cardozo High School — Bayside, Queens, NY
Rachel Renick,  Eximius College Preparatory Academy — South Bronx, NY