Board of Governors (the Voting Board) Officers 2019


  • Claire Regan, Wagner College

Vice Presidents

  • Colin DeVries, NYU Langone Hospital-Brooklyn (awards dinner)
  • Allison Lichter, The New School (awards contest)
  • George Bodarky, WFUV-New York, Fordham University (special projects)
  • Janell Crispyn, iHeartMedia (communications)
  • Jessica Seigel, New York University (events)
  • Polly Whittell, freelance (membership)


  • Kathleen Thieme, NYU Graduate School of Journalism

Assistant Secretary

  • Gary Shapiro, Columbia University

Treasurer/Assistant Treasurer

  • To be filled

Advisory Council (Past Presidents)

  • Steve Dunlop, Dunlop Media
  • John C. Long, The Wall Street Journal (retired), St. John’s and Hofstra Universities
  • Peter Szekely, Thomson Reuters

 Executive Council

  • Michael Arena, freelance (chair, as immediate past president)
  • Stephen Castellano, Lehman College/CUNY and iHeartMedia
  • Ivette Davila-Richards, Fox News Channel
  • Phil Corso, New York Post
  • James Martinez, The Associated Press
  • Sheryl Huggins-Salomon, NYU McSilver Institute
  • Katina Paron, NYC High School Journalism Collaborative at Baruch College
  • Tricia Couture, freelance
  • Mike Rizzo, St. John’s University

 Professional Council

  • Betsy Ashton, WNET and portrait artist
  • Allan Chernoff, Chernoff Communications
  • Anastasia Economides, MagnifyMoney
  • Rebecca Baker, Bloomberg Law
  • Pamela Lynn Hamilton, documentary producer
  • Keith Kelly, The New York Post
  • Rubina Madan Fillion, The Intercept
  • J. Alex Tarquinio, SPJ National President
  • Abi Wright, Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism
  • Lauren Young, Thomson Reuters